

2025 SWO SPRING TURKEY HUNTING FACT SHEET



Please review this information to ensure that you comply with all the wild turkey hunting regulations. While hunting, please respect the rules of good sportsmanship and the property of others. Have a safe, enjoyable and successful hunt.

SPRING TURKEY HARVEST REPORTING

Turkey hunters must submit a hunter report card within thirty (30) days after the close of the spring turkey season. Failure to do so will result in a \$25.00 monetary penalty assessed to your next turkey season permit purchase.

BY TELEPHONE : 1-605-698-8353

ONLINE: https://wso.nagfa.net/online

TAGGING AND TRANSPORTATION INSTRUCTIONS: The turkey transport tag must be signed, dated and securely attached to the leg of the turkey at the time it is brought to a road or into any hunting camp, farmyard, residence or before it is place in or on a vehicle. Tagging allows a turkey to be transported or stored by the hunter or by another person for the hunter.

MAPS: Tribal Atlases are available for purchase at the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Fish & Wildlife Department. Individual tribal member (BIA) owned parcels are color coded in yellow and the tribal owned parcels are color coded in red. License's are valid on the parcels color coded in red or yellow.

Parcels in yellow that are posted by the sole owner/owners of such property can not be hunted without express written consent of that individual.

If in doubt on a posted or non-posted property, please check with the SWO Fish & Wildlife Dept. or the Bureau of Indian Affairs at Sisseton Agency.

LICENSE COMPLETION: Before hunting, you must sign your license. You must carry the signed license, along with your turkey transport tag, while hunting wild turkey.

HUNTING REGULATIONS

Bag Limit: One male turkey (gobbler); or one hen with a visible beard per tag. Once you have filled your tag, you may not further participate with a weapon in any turkey hunting party.

Baiting: Use of live or electronic turkey decoys, recorded calls, dogs or bait is illegal.

Parcels of land in North Dakota: No hunting allowed on Lake Traverse Reservation trust lands on the North Dakota side unless a special permit is acquired from the SWO Fish & Wildlife Department through a separate permit process. These special permits are available on a first come first serve basis and will be valid only on the BIA or Tribal trust lands on the Lake Traverse Reservation that extends into North Dakota.

Clothing: No special clothing is required.

Youth under 16 years of age: All youth under the age of 16 must be certified with a hunter education certification prior to purchase of any hunting license.

Hunting Hours: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset

Roost: It is illegal to shoot a wild turkey while it is in a tree.

Season: April 12, 2025 - May 31, 2025

Fees: Tribal Member: 2 Tags \$10.00 Indian Non Member: 2 Tags \$45.00 Non Indian: 2 Tags \$150.00

Tribal tax: A 4% tribal tax will be applied to each license or tag purchase.

Surcharge: A \$5.00 surcharge will be applied to the initial purchase. Any additional license purchases in 2025 will not be subject to the surcharge.

Firearm:

- A person may not use a rimfire, centerfire rifle during the spring turkey season. With the exception of Tribal Members may use a rifle. (Minimum 22 Mag.)
- No self-loading or auto-loading firearm that holds more than six cartridges or shells may be used to hunt, pursue, shoot at, shoot, kill or wound any big game animal.
- 3) No firearm that is capable of being operated as a full automatic may be used to hunt, shoot, shoot at, wound, kill or pursue any big game or small game animal.

Muzzleloader:

No person may hunt, shoot, shoot at, wound, kill or pursue any big game animal with any muzzleloading rifle which discharges a projectile less than .44 caliber

Archery:

A person hunting with bow and arrow may not use or possess any of the following: Explosive, poisonous, hydraulic or pneumatic points; Crossbows and draw-lock devices that hold the bow at partial or full draw except for individuals who qualify and possess a valid crossbow/ draw-lock license; Arrow rests that have more than three inches of continuous contact with the arrow; Electronic devices mounted to the bow that aid in the taking of game. However, cameras, video cameras, cell phones used exclusively for photographic purposes, lighted sight pins and illuminated arrow nocks may be used; Electronic arrow or electronic string releases; Telescopic sights; An arrow without a broad head (fixed or mechanical) that has at least two metal cutting edges when hunting a big game animal, except blunt points may be possessed and used when hunting a turkey. A bow that measures less than 30 pounds pull.

It is Illegal:

- For any person to hunt wild turkey without possessing a Turkey Hunting License
- For any person to have in their possession while in the field during turkey season, any turkey permit issued to another person.
- For any person to chase, drive, harass, or hunt any wildlife with or from a recreational vehicle.